MUSEUM REVIEW – Guggenheim

From time to time, I like to visit museums as a hobby as I believe they are an asset to be used considering what they can offer.

Guggenheim

The Guggenheim, I felt was most disappointing but perhaps I wasn’t part of the target audience as some students enjoyed it. As the Guggenheim is so popular among movies, especially arts-related media I already grew an opinion on the museum, so when I finally got to visit I was more than excited. The prices, even for a student, were a bit ‘pricey’ for my liking, but hey its the Guggenheim so I didn’t mind. Then as we entered I felt a bit like a criminal, phone in hand after a text from a tutor and I was immediately told to put it away immediately or I would be removed from the premises as no photography was permitted. Oh along with a bag search of course but again, its the Guggenheim so ok.

Now the art itself just wasn’t for me, I may offend people that like this kind of art but to me? Somehow attaching bin bags to a canvas and burning holes through them just doesn’t seem like a unique talent to me which is how I view art to be. Overall, it was pretty disappointing but like I say, probably just the wrong audience.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment